Hanging out at baggage claim for two hours

Now it’s my turn to go on vacation. Actually, the funny thing was that it was the other way around I planned a vacation first with my college friends and my husband decided to plan one with Lana around the same time. I realized I was going to miss out on seeing Lana experience her flight and her first long-distance trip. She will, however, experience the first time she’s been apart from me for more than 10 hours. Plus I will miss out on learning how to travel with a young child. At least my husband can tell me how it goes and we can plan better for the next trip (haha). I just learned we could pack the stroller which would have made getting around the airport so much easier. Plus it could have doubled as a wagon to hold our carryons and personal items.

I just landed in Austin and I am waiting for my friends to arrive. They’re coming from the Bay Area. In the meantime, I am at the seating area next to baggage claim writing this post to occupy my two hours.

I am so glad I bought the Trader Joe’s breakfast burrito yesterday. When I woke up at 2:30 AM, I heated it up for a little bit and ate that plus a banana on the bus to the airport. At the gates, I was reading to fight sleep and coffee. Throughout the entire flight, I slept and missed two rounds of refreshments from the flight attendants. The first things I ate when I landed in Austin is a danish and a coffee and now I feel like I can start my day. The danish is okay, I think it’s from Costco but it does the job.

This week I am gifting away some books. I am working on moving my shelf to another part of the house and I thought while I am at it, I should declutter the shelf by giving away books. When I travel, I pack books and I like to leave them in places such as a table at a cafe or the seat pocket on the bus. I just have this romantic idea that someone will pick up a book I left behind somewhere to read and they end up enjoying the book as much (or more) than I do. Or maybe they’ll find a children’s book I left on the bus and gift it to their kids.

Anyways, that’s it for this week’s coffee share. As soon as my friends and I meet up at the baggage claim, we’ll be renting a car and driving out to Houston. We thought to do the tough travel work at the beginning of our vacation and end the second half of our vacation in Austin.

Tag: Weekend Coffee Share

Published by

Julie

Eat, Play, Live - my personal blog Buoyancy Blog Project - a blog about resilience

5 thoughts on “Hanging out at baggage claim for two hours”

  1. Hi Julie.
    You are very close to having an idea go viral. I could see the fad going something like a sticker on the inside cover that reads how this book is a temporary gift, intended to be read by someone then left in some public spot for re-gifting as you describe. It sounds like a fun idea.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment